Cat Kid Readalikes!

Printer Friendly Display

If you've read all the Cat Kid books and need something to keep you going, we've got some great readalikes for you! 


Jonathan Fenske
Description: After finding a box just the right size to hide in, a little fox tries to play some tricks on his big friend, Pig, but things do not work out exactly as he planned.
Call Number: Ei Fen
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Jason Tharp
Description: When a spicy mustard packet tries to make everyone grumpy, friends Nugget, a chicken nugget, and Dog, a hot dog, come to the rescue by starting a K.E.T.C.H.U.P. club to fight back with kindness.
Call Number: Ei Tha
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Ashley Spires
Description: "Binky is a space cat - at least in his own mind. He's really a house cat who has never left the family "space station." Binky has a mission: to blast off into outer space (outside), explore unknown places (the backyard) and battle aliens (bugs). But just as he's about to blast off Binky realizes that he's left something very important behind ... and it's not the zero-gravity kitty litter."--Excerpted from summary on book.
Call Number: J FIC Spi
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Cece Bell
Description: "Oh! Oh, oh, oh! Look what Brain found. Chick and Spot say it is an egg. Brain says it is an eyeball. Is it an egg or an eyeball?"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: Ei Bel
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Ashley Spires
Description: When aliens invade P.U.R.S.T. headquarters, it's up to Sergeant Fluffy Vandemere to take on the aliens in a daring solo mission.
Call Number: J FIC Spi
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Beth Ferry, Gergely Dudás
Description: "Easygoing Fox and anxious Rabbit seem like total opposites. But, somehow, they make the perfect pair! Whether searching for hidden treasure or planting a garden in their own backyard, Fox and Rabbit find everyday magic at every turn. On this first adventure, the pair will discover some new favorite things like sunsets, dandelions, and cotton candy. And they'll face new fears like heights, swimming, and (poisonous!) frogs. Thankfully, there's nothing Fox and Rabbit can't do together!"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: J FIC Fer
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Geronimo Stilton, Tom Angleberger, Elisabetta Dami, Emily (Translator) Clement, Corey Barba
Description: "Geronimo and his friend Hercule Poirat venture into the sewers to find the origin of the horrible stink that is driving all the mice away from New Mouse City--and learn an important lesson about recycling."--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: J FIC Sti
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Deborah Underwood, Claudia Rueda
Description: When Cat tries to replace the Easter Bunny, he soon learns that the job is much harder than he expected--and does not allow time for naps.
Call Number: E Und
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
John Green, Aaron Polk
Description: "With their very exciting spy technology and their tried-and-true, toilet-based travel techniques, the InvestiGators are undercover and on the case! And on their first mission together, they have not one but two mysteries to solve! Can Mango and Brash uncover the clues, crack their cases, and corral the crooks--or will the criminals wriggle out of their grasp?"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: J FIC Gre
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Katy Farina, Ann M. Martin, Braden Lamb, Ann M. Martin
Description: Karen Brewer's imagination gets the best of her when she decides that her neighbor, Mrs. Porter--who has wild gray hair, wears black robes, and has a garden full of mysterious herbs--must be a witch.
Call Number: J FIC Far
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Cynthia Rylant, Arthur Howard
Description: Follows a busy mouse as he drives a delivery car, enjoys Cake Day with friends, goes for a cab ride around town, and shares popcorn with his brother at the movies.
Call Number: E Ryl
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Tedd Arnold, Martha Hamilton, Mitch Weiss
Description: After hearing Uncle Ziti's unbelievable story about a snake and a frog, brothers Mac and Mac are captivated by the idea of doing something impossible so that perhaps one day people will tell tales about their amazing feats.
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Brian (Comic book writer) Smith
Description: Like all peas, Pea loves to roll. So when a no-good strawberry dares him to roll all the way off the farm, he swears he can do it--eazy me-zee! But along the way, a powerful thunderstorm strikes and bounces Pea off course...and right into two unlikely new buds: a bee named Bee who thinks she knows it all, and a bird named Jay who can't figure out how to fly. On their own they may not look like much, but if this trio can stick together, they just might help Pea find his way back home!
Call Number: J FIC Smi
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Graham Annable
Description: Peter and Ernesto loved their tree. Then a hurricane came and blew it away! Now, Peter, Ernesto, and the rest of their sloth friends must venture into the jungle to find a new-great-tree. But the jungle is full of dangers, including angry ants, slithering snakes, and a ravenous jaguar! Can cautious Peter and confident Ernesto work together to keep their tribe safe? They'll have to, if they want to find the perfect tree to call home!
Call Number: J FIC Ann
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Stephen Shaskan
Description: Pizza and Taco are bored and decide to throw a party, but despite their careful planning, nothing seems to go right.
Call Number: J FIC Sha
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
1990- author Cathon, Susan Ouriou
Description: "Winter is coming, and Poppy and Sam's tiny garden neighbors are getting ready to hibernate. After stocking their pantries for the colder days ahead, Poppy and Sam settle in for a long winter's nap as well. But what is Poppy doing wrong? She can't sleep and nothing seems to work! Determined to hibernate like her friends, Poppy sets out with Sam to ask the other creatures for their deep-sleep secrets."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: J FIC Cat
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Brian Yanish
Description: An unlikely friendship forms between a great white shark and a robot when they bond over a favorite book series, then stand--and dance--together against playground bullies.
Call Number: J FIC Yan
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Cece Bell
Description: Shares the interactions of the rule-following Chick and the absent-minded Brain, whose friendship is tested by miscommunications and misunderstandings about good manners.
Call Number: Ei Bel
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Dan Santat
Description: "There are only three cookies and four hungry friends to share them with. This is not good. This is not equal."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: Ei San
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Sergio Ruzzier
Description: Fox is calm and thoughtful. Chick is hyperactive and flighty. They don't always agree, but they are friends anyway.
Call Number: Ei Ruz
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Ryan T. Higgins
Description: When the class pet bites the finger of Penelope, a tyrannosaurus rex, she finally understands why she should not eat her classmates, no matter how tasty they are.
Call Number: E Hig
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 24, 2021
Subscribe to New Best Fun List: Cat Kid Readalikes!
A Pig, A Fox, And A Box
Jonathan Fenske
Ei Fen
Noodleheads Do The Impossible
Tedd Arnold, Martha Hamilton, Mitch Weiss
All Ketchup, No Mustard!
Jason Tharp
Ei Tha
Pea, Bee, & Jay. 01, Stuck Together
Brian (Comic book writer) Smith
J FIC Smi
Binky The Space Cat
Ashley Spires
J FIC Spi
Peter & Ernesto : The Lost Sloths
Graham Annable
J FIC Ann
Chick And Brain. Egg Or Eyeball?
Cece Bell
Ei Bel
Pizza And Taco : Best Party Ever!
Stephen Shaskan
J FIC Sha
Fluffy Strikes Back
Ashley Spires
J FIC Spi
Poppy & Sam And The Search For Sleep
1990- author Cathon, Susan Ouriou
J FIC Cat
Fox & Rabbit
Beth Ferry, Gergely Dudás
J FIC Fer
Shark And Bot
Brian Yanish
J FIC Yan
Geronimo Stilton : The Graphic Novel. The Sewer Rat Stink
Geronimo Stilton, Tom Angleberger, Elisabetta Dami, Emily (Translator) Clement, Corey Barba
J FIC Sti
Smell My Foot!
Cece Bell
Ei Bel
Here Comes The Easter Cat
Deborah Underwood, Claudia Rueda
E Und
The Cookie Fiasco
Dan Santat
Ei San
Investigators 01
John Green, Aaron Polk
J FIC Gre
The Party And Other Stories
Sergio Ruzzier
Ei Ruz
Karen's Witch : A Graphic Novel
Katy Farina, Ann M. Martin, Braden Lamb, Ann M. Martin
J FIC Far
We Don't Eat Our Classmates!
Ryan T. Higgins
E Hig
Motor Mouse
Cynthia Rylant, Arthur Howard
E Ryl