Squid Game Readalikes

Printer Friendly Display

Loved Netflix's Squid Game? Here are some readalikes! 


Gretchen McNeil
Description: Welcome to the near future, where good and honest citizens can enjoy watching the executions of society's most infamous convicted felons, streaming live on The Postman app from the suburbanized prison island Alcatraz 2.0. When seventeen-year-old Dee Guerrera wakes up in a haze, lying on the ground of a dimly lit warehouse, she realizes she's about to be the next victim of the app. Knowing hardened criminals are getting a taste of their own medicine in this place is one thing, but Dee refuses to roll over and die for a heinous crime she didn't commit. Can Dee and her newly formed posse, the Death Row Breakfast Club, prove she's innocent before she ends up wrongfully murdered for the world to see?
Call Number: YA FIC McN
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Roshani Chokshi
Description: Taken prisoner in a neighboring hostile kingdom, Gauri, the princess of Bharata, agrees to help a cunning prince by teaming up with him in a mythical competition that will grant a magic wish to the victor.
Call Number: YA FIC Cho
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Victoria (Young adult author) Scott
Description: Tella's brother Cody is sick and getting worse, so when she finds instructions on how to become a contender in the dangerous Brimstone Bleed race where she can win a cure for him, she jumps at the chance--but there is no guarantee that she will win, or even survive.
Call Number: YA FIC Sco
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Michael Grant, Kyle McCarley
Description: In the blink of an eye, the world changes. The adults vanish without a trace, and those left must do all they can to survive. But everyone's idea of survival is different. Some look after themselves, some look after others, and some will do anything for power. For Sam and Astrid, it is a race against time as they try to solve the questions that now dominate their lives.
Call Number: YA FIC Gra
Format: Audiobook
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Hit
Delilah S Dawson
Description: "Near future thriller about a teen forced to become an indentured assassin who has only three days to complete her hit list--with the added complication of her sole ally's brother being the final assignment"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: YA FIC Daw
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Heather Swain
Description: In Thalia's world there is no more food and no need for food, as everyone takes medication to ward off hunger. But when she meets a boy who is part of an underground movement to bring food back, she realizes that the meds are not working.
Call Number: YA FIC Swa
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Nil
Lynne Matson
Description: Transported through a "gate" to the mysterious island of Nil, seventeen-year-old Charley has 365 days to escape--or she will die.
Call Number: YA FIC Mat
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Lauren Oliver
Description: "In the poor town of Carp, New York, a group of teens enters a high-stakes game that involves a series of secretive, possibly deadly challenges throughout the summer, with the winner receiving more than $50,000--enough money to start a new life"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: YA FIC Oli
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Garth Nix
Description: In a savage postnuclear world, four young fugitives attempt to overthrow the bloodthirsty rule of the Overlords with the help of Shade, their mysterious mentor.
Call Number: YA SF Nix
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Andrea White
Description: In the year 2083, five fourteen-year-olds who were deprived by chance of the opportunity to continue their educations reenact Scott's 1910-1913 expedition to the South Pole as contestants on a reality television show, secretly aided by a Department of Entertainment employee.
Call Number: YA FIC Whi
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Ten
Gretchen McNeil
Description: "Ten teens head to a house party at a remote island mansion off the Washington coast only for them to picked off by a killer one by one"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: YA FIC McN
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Maggie Stiefvater, Steve (Actor) West, Fiona Hardingham
Description: Nineteen-year-old returning champion Sean Kendrick competes against Puck Connolly, the first girl ever to ride in the annual Scorpio Races, both trying to keep hold of their dangerous water horses long enough to make it to the finish line.
Call Number: YA FIC Sti
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Chelsea Pitcher
Description: Five teens who were partly responsible for a death a year earlier are lured by the promise of a $50,000 prize to an isolated mansion by someone bent on revenge.
Call Number: YA FIC Pit
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Victoria (Young adult author) Scott
Description: Seventeen-year-old Astrid Sullivan belongs to a family of compulsive gamblers, and now that her father has been laid off from his job in Detroit and lost all their money betting on the Titans, which are half-horse, half car, and race around impossible tracks, her family is falling apart--but when Astrid's new friends give her the chance to participate in this year's Titan races, she thinks she sees a way to win some money and keep her family together.
Call Number: YA FIC Sco
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 13, 2021
Subscribe to New Best Fun List: Squid Game Readalikes
#Murdertrending
Gretchen McNeil
YA FIC McN
Panic
Lauren Oliver
YA FIC Oli
A Crown Of Wishes
Roshani Chokshi
YA FIC Cho
Shade's Children
Garth Nix
YA SF Nix
Fire & Flood
Victoria (Young adult author) Scott
YA FIC Sco
Surviving Antarctica : Reality Tv 2083
Andrea White
YA FIC Whi
Gone
Michael Grant, Kyle McCarley
YA FIC Gra
Ten
Gretchen McNeil
YA FIC McN
Hit
Delilah S Dawson
YA FIC Daw
The Scorpio Races
Maggie Stiefvater, Steve (Actor) West, Fiona Hardingham
YA FIC Sti
Hungry
Heather Swain
YA FIC Swa
This Lie Will Kill You
Chelsea Pitcher
YA FIC Pit
Nil
Lynne Matson
YA FIC Mat
Titans
Victoria (Young adult author) Scott
YA FIC Sco