Percy Jackson readalikes

Printer Friendly Display

If you and your kids are firmly stuck in Camp Halfblood, but have run out of Percy Jackson books  these delightful chapterbooks will be an excellent next read.


Chris Abouzeid
Description: In the realm from which the Greek gods ruled the universe thousands of years ago, the immortal witch Anatopsis uncovers the true objectives of her demi-god tutor Mr. Pound and attempts to prevent him from carrying out his evil plans."[Immortal Princess Anatopsis's new tutor, the demi-god Mr. Pound, is searching for a relic that grants unlimited power to its bearer. It is up to Ana--with the help of a surprising gift, a rebel mortal army, a shockingly powerful metal, and the last dog in the Universe--to stop his evil plan in this fantasy, influenced by Greek mythology]"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: J FIC Abo
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Kendare Blake
Description: Athena and Hermes' search for the cause of their unexpected, life-threatening illnesses leads them to Cassandra, a former prophetess, who may be key to a war started by Hera and other Olympians who have become corrupt anti-gods determined to destroy their rivals.
Call Number: YA FIC Bla
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Michael Northrop
Description: Nothing can save Alex Sennefer's life. That's what all the doctors say, but his mother knows it's not true. She knows that the Lost Spells of the Egyptian Book of the Dead can crack open a door to the afterlife and pull her son back from the brink. But when she uses the spells, five evil ancients--the Death Walkers--are also brought back to life. An ancient evil has been unleashed. Mummies are awakening. New York is overrun with scorpions. And worst of all for Alex, his mom and the Lost Spells have both disappeared. He and his best friend, Ren, will do anything to find his mom and save the world even if that means going head-to-head with a Death Walker who has been plotting his revenge for 3,000 years.
Call Number: J FIC Nor
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Michelle Paver
Description: In the turbulent world of the Mediterranean Bronze Age, Hylas, a lowly twelve-year-old goatherd, thief, and outsider, journeys from the Greek mountains to Crete and Egypt, making allies with animals, battling tyranny, and withstanding the elemental powers of the gods of land and sea.
Call Number: J FIC Pav
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Suzanne Collins, Paul Boehmer
Description: When eleven-year-old Gregor and his two-year-old sister are pulled into a strange underground world, they trigger an epic battle involving men, bats, rats, cockroaches, and spiders while on a quest foretold by ancient prophecy.
Call Number: J FIC Col
Format: Audiobook
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Sarah Deming
Description: After discovering that the immortals of Greek mythology reside in her hometown of Middleville, Pennsylvania, twelve-year-old Iris listens to their life stories, gaining wisdom, beauty, and startling revelations about her past.
Call Number: J FIC Dem
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Erin Hunter
Description: As the three bears, Toklo, Lusa, and Kallik, begin their journey home, they encounter new friends and dangerous enemies and must decide which they can trust to help them on their quest.
Call Number: J FIC Hun
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Kelley Armstrong, Melissa Marr, Casey Holloway, Jon Wierenga, Pat Young
Description: Matt Thorsen is a direct descendent of the order-keeping god Thor, and his classmates Fen and Laurie Brekke are descendents of the trickster god Loki. When Ragnarok--the apocalypse--threatens, the human descendents of the gods must fight monsters to stop the end of the world.
Call Number: J FIC Arm
Format: Audiobook
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Jon Voelkel, Pamela Voelkel, Scott Brick
Description: When his archaeologist parents go missing in Central America, fourteen-year-old Max embarks on a wild adventure through the Mayan underworld in search of the legendary Jaguar Stones, which enabled ancient Mayan kings to wield the powers of living gods.
Call Number: J FIC Voe
Format: Audiobook
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Neil Gaiman, Brett Helquist
Description: An unlucky twelve-year-old Norwegian boy named Odd leads the Norse gods Loki, Thor, and Odin in an attempt to outwit evil Frost Giants who have taken over Asgard.
Call Number: J FIC Gai
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Carolyn Hennesy
Description: Thirteen-year-old Pandy is hauled before Zeus and given six months to gather all of the evils that were released when the box she brought to school as her annual project was accidentally opened.
Call Number: J FIC Hen
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Kate O'Hearn
Description: When Pegasus crashes onto the roof of Emily's Manhattan apartment, her life changes forever. Emily is thrust into the center of a fierce battle between the Roman gods and a terrifying race of multiarmed stone warriors called the Nirads. She must join forces with a thief named Paelen, the goddess Diana, and a boy named Joel to return Pegasus to Olympus and rescue the gods from certain death.
Call Number: J FIC OHe
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson, Jim Dale
Description: Soon after Peter, an orphan, sets sail from England on the ship Never Land, he befriends and assists Molly, a young Starcatcher, whose mission is to guard a trunk of magical stardust from a greedy pirate and the native inhabitants of a remote island.
Call Number: J FIC Bar
Format: Audiobook
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Derek Landy
Description: When twelve-year-old Stephanie inherits her weird uncle's estate, she must join forces with Skulduggery Pleasant, a skeleton mage, to save the world from the Faceless Ones.
Call Number: YA FIC Lan
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Brandon Mull
Description: Whisked through a portal to The Outskirts, an in-between world, sixth-grader Cole must rescue his friends and find his way back home--before his existence is forgotten.
Call Number: J FIC Mul
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Marie Rutkoski
Description: Twelve-year-old Petra, accompanied by her magical tin spider, goes to Prague hoping to retrieve the enchanted eyes the Prince of Bohemia took from her father, and is aided in her quest by a Roma boy and his sister.
Call Number: J FIC Rut
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Jeanne DuPrau, Wendy Dillon
Description: The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she's sure it holds a secret that will save the city. She and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever! This stunning debut novel offers refreshingly clear writing and fascinating, original characters.
Format: eAudiobook
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Peter Lerangis
Description: Teens Jack, Marco, Aly, and Cass begin a quest to find seven pieces of Atlantis' power that were hidden long ago and that will, if returned to Atlantis, save them from certain death due to the genetic abnormality that also gives them superior abilities.
Call Number: J FIC Ler
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Richard Yancey
Description: Through a series of dangerous and violent misadventures, teenage loser Alfred Kropp rescues King Arthur's legendary sword Excalibur from the forces of evil.
Format: eBook
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Jennifer A Nielsen
Description: In the country of Carthya, a devious nobleman engages four orphans in a brutal competition to be selected to impersonate the king's long-missing son in an effort to avoid a civil war.
Format: eBook
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Tony Abbott, Bill (Illustrator) illustrator Perkins
Description: Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.
Call Number: J FIC Abb
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
John Flanagan
Description: Skandian outcasts Hal, Stig, and others do battle at sea against the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race across icy waters where not everyone thinks of the competition as play.
Format: eBook
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Rick Riordan
Description: Brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane accidentally unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes the doctor to oblivion and forces his two children to embark on a dangerous journey, bringing them closer to the truth about their family and its links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharoahs.
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Nancy Farmer
Description: After Jack becomes apprenticed to a Druid bard, he and his little sister Lucy are captured by Viking Berserkers and taken to the home of King Ivar the Boneless and his half-troll queen, leading Jack to undertake a vital quest to Jotunheim, home of the trolls.
Call Number: YA FIC Far
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Anne Ursu
Description: After her cousin Zee arrives from England, thirteen-year-old Charlotte and he must set out to save humankind from denizens of the underworld, Nightmares, Death, Pain, and a really nasty guy named Phil.
Call Number: J FIC Urs
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Rick Riordan
Description: Magnus Chase, a homeless boy living in Boston, finds out he is the son of a Norse god.
Call Number: J FIC Rio
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Laurence Yep
Description: A tiger, a monkey, a dragon, and a twelve-year-old Chinese American boy fight to keep a magic talisman out of the hands of an enemy who would use its power to destroy the world.
Call Number: J FIC Yep
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
P. J. (Patricia J.) Hoover
Description: Granted the gift of immortality by the gods, King Tut, living as an eighth-grader in Washington, D.C., has been stuck in middle school for ages and to make things worse, evil General Horemheb, in league with the Cult of Set, is seeking revenge for his 3,000-year imprisonment at Tut's hands.
Call Number: J FIC Hoo
Format: Book
Date Added: Jul 25, 2017
Subscribe to New Best Fun List: Percy Jackson readalikes
Anatopsis
Chris Abouzeid
J FIC Abo
Sky Raiders
Brandon Mull
J FIC Mul
Antigoddess : The Goddess War
Kendare Blake
YA FIC Bla
The Cabinet Of Wonders
Marie Rutkoski
J FIC Rut
Book Of The Dead
Michael Northrop
J FIC Nor
The City Of Ember [eAudiobook]
Jeanne DuPrau, Wendy Dillon
Gods And Warriors
Michelle Paver
J FIC Pav
The Colossus Rises
Peter Lerangis
J FIC Ler
Gregor The Overlander [Audiobook]
Suzanne Collins, Paul Boehmer
J FIC Col
The Extraordinary Adventures Of Alfred Kropp [E-book]
Richard Yancey
Iris, Messenger
Sarah Deming
J FIC Dem
The False Prince [E-book]
Jennifer A Nielsen
Island Of Shadows
Erin Hunter
J FIC Hun
The Forbidden Stone
Tony Abbott, Bill (Illustrator) illustrator Perkins
J FIC Abb
Loki's Wolves [Audiobook]
Kelley Armstrong, Melissa Marr, Casey Holloway, Jon Wierenga, Pat Young
J FIC Arm
The Outcasts [E-book]
John Flanagan
Middleworld [Audiobook]
Jon Voelkel, Pamela Voelkel, Scott Brick
J FIC Voe
The Red Pyramid [Electronic Resource]
Rick Riordan
Odd And The Frost Giants
Neil Gaiman, Brett Helquist
J FIC Gai
The Sea Of Trolls
Nancy Farmer
YA FIC Far
Pandora Gets Jealous
Carolyn Hennesy
J FIC Hen
The Shadow Thieves
Anne Ursu
J FIC Urs
Pegasus : The Flame Of Olympus
Kate O'Hearn
J FIC OHe
The Sword Of Summer
Rick Riordan
J FIC Rio
Peter And The Starcatchers [Audiobook]
Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson, Jim Dale
J FIC Bar
The Tiger's Apprentice
Laurence Yep
J FIC Yep
Skulduggery Pleasant
Derek Landy
YA FIC Lan
Tut : The Story Of My Immortal Life
P. J. (Patricia J.) Hoover
J FIC Hoo