Bestsellers - Nonfiction

Printer Friendly Display

Bestselling Nonfiction from a variety of sources including the New York Times.


Michael Savage
Description: The radio host discusses the challenges President Trump faces as he strives to fulfill his promises.
Call Number: ordered 021617
Format: Book
Date Added: Mar 27, 2017
J. D. Vance
Description: Shares the story of the author's family and upbringing, describing how they moved from poverty to an upwardly mobile clan that included the author, a Yale Law School graduate, while navigating the demands of middle class life and the collective demons of the past.
Call Number: 306.5 Van
Format: Book
Date Added: Aug 8, 2016
George W. (George Walker) Bush
Description: Sixty-six color paintings and a four-panel mural, accompanied by brief biographies, show members of the military who have served since 9/11.
Call Number: ordered 030217
Format: Book
Date Added: Mar 13, 2017
Bill O'Reilly, Martin Dugard
Description: Autumn 1944. World War II is nearly over in Europe but is escalating in the Pacific, where American soldiers face an opponent who will go to any length to avoid defeat. The Japanese army follows the samurai code of Bushido, stipulating that surrender is a form of dishonor. This book takes readers to the bloody tropical-island battlefields of Peleliu and Iwo Jima and to the embattled Philippines, where General Douglas MacArthur has made a triumphant return and is plotting a full-scale invasion of Japan. Across the globe in Los Alamos, New Mexico, Dr. J. Robert Oppenheimer and his team of scientists are preparing to test the deadliest weapon known to mankind. In Washington, DC, Harry Truman ascends to the presidency after FDR dies in office, only to face the most important political decision in history: whether to use that weapon. And in Tokyo, Emperor Hirohito, who is considered a deity by his subjects, refuses to surrender, despite a massive and mounting death toll. This epic saga details the final moments of World War II like never before.
Call Number: 940.5426 ORe
Format: Book
Date Added: Sep 26, 2016
Chip Gaines, Joanna Gaines, Mark Dagostino
Description: Are you ready to see your fixer upper-- and learn how their TV show became a success? From the very first renovation project they ever tackled together, to the project that nearly cost them everything, Chip and Joanna Gaines tell you about the breakthrough moments and the real-life decisions that led to their success today. And you'll discover how the couples shares their success with others, bolstering the city of Waco along the way.
Call Number: 920 Gai
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 31, 2016
David Horowitz
Description: A battle plan for the Trump White House.
Call Number: 973.933 Hor
Format: Book
Date Added: Feb 22, 2017
Rod Dreher
Description: An argument that, rather than engaging in politics, Christians should withdraw from mainstream culture and focus on strengthening their families, churches and schools.
Call Number: ordered 031617
Format: Book
Date Added: Mar 27, 2017
Paul Kalanithi, A. (Abraham) Verghese
Description: On the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. Kalanithi chronicles his transformation from a naïve medical student into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. When Breath Becomes Air is a life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient.
Call Number: 616.994 Kal
Format: Book
Date Added: Dec 19, 2016
Dalai Lama XIV Bstan-ʾdzin-rgya-mtsho, Desmond Tutu, Douglas Carlton Abrams
Description: Two leading spiritual masters, His Holiness the Dalai lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu, share their wisdom about living with joy even in the face of adversity, sharing personal stories and teachings about the science of profound happiness and the daily practices that anchor their emotional and spiritual lives.
Call Number: 294.3444 Bst
Format: Book
Date Added: Oct 4, 2016
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Call Number: ordered 032317
Format: Book
Date Added: Mar 23, 2017
Michael Finkel
Description: For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded.
Call Number: 974.122 Fin
Format: Book
Date Added: Mar 20, 2017
Yuval N Harari
Description: A provocative look into the future by the author of “Sapiens.”
Call Number: 909.83 Har
Format: Book
Date Added: Mar 6, 2017
Thomas Clavin
Description: Dodge City, Kansas, is a place of legend. The town that started as a small military site exploded with the coming of the railroad, cattle drives, eager miners, settlers, and various entrepreneurs passing through to populate the expanding West. Before long, Dodge City's streets were lined with saloons and brothels and its populace was thick with gunmen, horse thieves, and desperadoes of every sort. By the 1870s, Dodge City was known as the most violent and turbulent town in the West. Enter Wyatt Earp and Bat Masterson. Young and largely self-trained men, the lawmen led the effort that established frontier justice and the rule of law in the American West, and did it in the wickedest place in the United States. When they moved on, Wyatt to Tombstone and Bat to Colorado, a tamed Dodge was left in the hands of Jim Masterson. But before long Wyatt and Bat, each having had a lawman brother killed, returned to that threatened western Kansas town to team up to restore order again in what became known as the Dodge City War before riding off into the sunset. The true story of their friendship, romances, gunfights, and adventures, along with the remarkable cast of characters they encountered along the way (including Wild Bill Hickock, Jesse James, Doc Holliday, Buffalo Bill Cody, John Wesley Hardin, Billy the Kid, and Theodore Roosevelt) has gone largely untold--lost in the haze of Hollywood films and western fiction, until now.
Call Number: 978.176 Cla
Format: Book
Date Added: Mar 13, 2017
Nicholas E Reynolds
Description: Ernest Hemingway’s involvement with espionage, both Soviet and American.
Call Number: ordered 030917
Format: Book
Date Added: Mar 27, 2017
Joan Didion
Call Number: ordered 011217
Format: Book
Date Added: Mar 20, 2017
Trump's War : His Battle For America
Michael Savage
ordered 021617
The Book Of Joy : Lasting Happiness In A Changing World
Dalai Lama XIV Bstan-ʾdzin-rgya-mtsho, Desmond Tutu, Douglas Carlton Abrams
294.3444 Bst
Hillbilly Elegy : A Memoir Of A Family And Culture In Crisis
J. D. Vance
306.5 Van
Dear Ijeawele, Or, A Feminist Manifiesto In Fifteen Suggestions
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ordered 032317
Portraits Of Courage : A Commander In Chief's Tribute To America's Warriors
George W. (George Walker) Bush
ordered 030217
The Stranger In The Woods : The Extraordinary Story Of The North Pond Hermit
Michael Finkel
974.122 Fin
Killing The Rising Sun : How America Vanquished World War II Japan
Bill O'Reilly, Martin Dugard
940.5426 ORe
Homo Deus : A Brief History Of Tomorrow
Yuval N Harari
909.83 Har
The Magnolia Story
Chip Gaines, Joanna Gaines, Mark Dagostino
920 Gai
Dodge City : Wyatt Earp, Bat Masterson, And The Wickedest Town In The American West
Thomas Clavin
978.176 Cla
Big Agenda : President Trump's Plan To Save America
David Horowitz
973.933 Hor
Writer, Sailor, Soldier, Spy : Ernest Hemingway's Secret Adventures, 1935-1961
Nicholas E Reynolds
ordered 030917
The Benedict Option : A Strategy For Christians In A Post-christian Nation
Rod Dreher
ordered 031617
South And West : From A Notebook
Joan Didion
ordered 011217
When Breath Becomes Air
Paul Kalanithi, A. (Abraham) Verghese
616.994 Kal