ALA Names Award Winning Books

A number of book awards were announced on Monday, Jan. 28 by the American Library Association (ALA) at their midwinter meeting. The two most notable awards are the Caldecott Medal for artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children, and the Newbery Medal given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The Michael L. Printz Award recognizes the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit.

The 2013 Caldecott winner (best illustrations) is This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen!

The Caldecott honor books are:
Creepy Carrots! by Aaron Reynolds
Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett
Green by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
One Cool Friend by Toni Buzzeo
Sleep Like a Tiger by Mary Logue

The 2013 Newbery award (best children's) is The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate!

The honor books are:
Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
Bomb: The race to build and steal the world's most dangerous weapon by Steve Sheinkin
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

The 2013 Printz Award (best young adult literature) is In Darkness by Nick Lake!

The Printz honor books are:
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Dodger by Terry Pratchett

Here are links for all the winner and honor awards, including youth media.

Region Wide